My cello is itching!

While I’m still trying to finish my latest post on Lore and the Windrunner family, I found this little gem: Metallica’s ‘Nothing Else Matters’ played by four cellos.

I should let my hair grow...

If you still have doubts about my theory (and I’m of course the first to ever have said that…) that the cello is the one instrument most capable of mimicking the human voice and its emotions and the Kol Nidrei has not convinced you yet, give this a listen.

Mixing classical instruments with soft metal rock or pop music in general is usually dubious at best and has a tendency to birth disasters. In this case though, I feel like the original song’s power is perfectly translated through the harmonics and crescendos of those four cellos. This cover actually brings out something new and unexpected from the song.

This gave me the same feeling than when I saw Mat Weddle of Obadiah Parker sing his acoustic version of ‘Hey Ya’ by Outkast. It shed a new light on this already great song and it made me like it even more for it. You can be a great technician and make a perfect cover of a song but when you actually add something the original lacked or hid, you’re an artist in my books.

That also reminded me to weep a little inside thinking about Jeff Buckley and the great things he should have brought to our ears. His cover of Hallelujah still gets me every time. Even Leonard Cohen‘s barbarian of a brother gets teary when he listens to it.

Once I’m elected president of Europe, I’ll make sure death becomes illegal… except for medicinal purposes.

When did Lando grow a moustache?

Back on subject, Apocalyptica is a Finnish cello rock band from Helsinki. It’s composed of four, obviously, classicaly trained cellists with mostly long hair and untrimmed facial hair. Their 1996 debut album was all Metallica covers but they’ve since started recording their own original scores. They are the first Finnish band to ever reach the top of the american Billboard rock chart with their single ‘I don’t care‘. Their cute little names are Eicca Toppinen, Paavo Lötjönen, Max Lilja, and Antero Manninen and they all graduated from the Sibelius Academy. All their music is available on Amazon and, after all, it’s the season for half naked women, minus one boob, to ride their proud stallions across the snowy landscapes…

A propos, if I haven’t bored you yet, please listen to Sibelius concerto for violin solo. That’s some truly epic music

This entry was posted in Happy Times inc. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My cello is itching!

  1. so nice dear
    and hear is the photo blog of this legend,l.cohen:

    http://leonardcohenphotos.wordpress.com/

    may u help us to improve?
    regards

  2. Jeff says:

    Here’s another cellist for you to check out:

    http://radio3.cbc.ca/play/band/ZOE-KEATING/Tetrishead

    I understand that she’s solo, but records all of the many layers of her compositions herself. Fascinating stuff…

  3. Anea says:

    Thanks for sharing all those songs and artists! I particularly liked the Hey Ya cover and I forwarded all the links to friends – sharing is caring, right? Everyone should learn to appreciate classical music and the abilities of the instruments :)

  4. sweet site, I hadn’t noticed thrawnator.wordpress.com before in my searches

Leave a Reply

